The value of a diamond is determined by the 4 ‘C’s of a diamond: cut, color, clarity, and carat.


  • Cut refers to the angle and shape of a diamond
  • The cut of a diamond follows a grading system on a scale of from Excellent to Poor
  • A well-cut diamond is seen as having more sparkle and brilliance as well as reflecting light better


  • The color of a diamond is measured using a grading system from a scale of D (colorless) to Z (light yellow or brown)
  • The most valuable diamonds are entirely colorless


  • The clarity of a diamond refers to evidence of any internal or external flaws/blemishes in a diamond
  • The clarity of a diamond is graded on a scale of Flawless to Included
  • The more flawless a diamond, the more valuable it becomes


  • Carat refers to the weight of the diamond
    • One metric carat (Ct) equals to 200 mg
  • The higher the carat weight, the larger the value of the diamond